About PCT


History of Phi Chi Theta

Phi Chi Theta was formed in Chicago, Illinois on June 16, 1924 by the union of two women’s business fraternities, Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Kappa Epsilon. Originally, only students majoring in business administration could rush PCT. However, in 1962, the requirements were changed to include those studying business and/or economics. Thus, Phi Chi Theta became the first professional fraternity for women studying economics.

Today, the Phi Chi Theta National Chapter is comprised of 37 Collegiate and Alumni Chapters. Phi Chi Theta has over 1,600 members across the country. Phi Chi Theta is a member of the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), the Professional Fraternity Association (PFA), and the College Fraternity Editors Association (CFEA).


Phi Chi Theta’s Mission Statement:

  • Provide an opportunity to develop and practice professional leadership skills and abilities necessary to succeed in the business community;

  • Provide a local and national network to share resources, ideas, and concepts;

  • Instill in its members values, codes, and creeds which will enable participation in a rapidly changing world; and

  • Enable members to develop the business astuteness necessary to achieve high esteem and success in their chosen field.